Crane House & Jail

About the Idaho Association of Museums

The IAM is a private, non-profit organization and the only state-wide grassroots group devoted to serving Idaho museums. Established in the late 1970s, the IAM is a volunteer organization funded by membership and conferences fees, and since 1990, interest from a small endowment from the Idaho Centennial Commission. 

Despite its meager budget, the IAM has an excellent record of accomplishments. It publishes a newsletter three times a year, holds annual conferences, and through grants has offered statewide workshops on conservation, volunteer programs, traveling exhibits, and educational programs. The IAM's most visible and widely distributed project is the brochure, Discover Idaho's Museums, which is funded by the Idaho Travel Council. 

As an advocate for Idaho museums over the past years the IAM successfully lobbied the Idaho Legislature to pass a law allowing tax credits for donations to museums, and later convinced the legislature to approve a bill to exempt Idaho museums from paying sales taxes on purchases and admissions income. 

The governing body is made up of representatives from three Idaho regions and four at-large representatives. The 2014 officers are Alyse Cadez, President; Mary Reed, Vice-President; Ann Curtis, Secretary; and Jim McReynolds, Treasurer. 

The Idaho Association of Museums represents 70 member institutions that span almost as many topics of interest. The IAM Board represents all regions of the state and a cross-section of the diversity of its members. 

IAM Officers and Board Members, 2014

Alyse Cadez, Ed. Specialist/ Volunteer Coordinator, Nez Perce National Historical Park

Vice President:
Mary Reed, Pullman WA

Ann Curtis, Director, Payette County Historical Society 

Jim McReynolds, Director, Wallace District Mining Museum Representatives: 

Northern Region
Dulce Kersting, Director, Latah County Historical Society
Jim McReynolds, Director, Wallace District Mining Museum

Southwestern Region
Ann Curtis, Museum Coordinator, Payette County Historical Society
Position 2, vacant

Southeastern Region
Amber Tews, Anthropology Collections Manager, Idaho Museum of Natural History
J. Michael Bateman, Pocatello, Idaho 

At-Large Representatives:
Mary Reed, Pullman WA
Alyse Cadez, Ed. Specialist/ Volunteer Coordinator, Nez Perce National Historical Park

Patty Miller, Executive Director, Basque Museum & Cultural Center

Idaho State Historical Society Liaison
Sarah Phillips, Curatorial Registrar, Idaho State Museum

Mary Reed

Website Manager
Dulce Kersting

Historical Museum